Wk 2 – Activity – Painting

20150201_225949[1] 20150201_230530[1]

Activities always sound fun in a college level class and this one didn’t disappoint. For my first art class activity, I was to spray paint my name on any legal surface using two different colors. Due to convenience, I resorted to utilizing a large slab of cardboard as my canvas for my masterpiece. The two colors I used were black and antique bronze that I borrowed from a friend. Luckily, I was able to get the cardboard from digging around the trash and recycling bins around my dorm. However, I felt the smell of the spray paint a little too much to handle.

I did not know I would learn so much about spray painting from this simple activity. This activity made me realize that there are so many small details about everything that you can only notice if you take part in the activity yourself in a hands-on manner. For example, one of those little details I did not account for was the fact that the paint quickly starts to drip down on a vertical surface. I am not sure if this happens only on soft surfaces like cardboard and not walls but it could be the same for both. Luckily, this factor did not interfere with my painting too much, it was only a tiny setback. Another factor that I did not think about beforehand was that the paint comes down unevenly if you spray too quick. I did not think that mattered so much. This taught me that I needed to control my spraying at an even pace so the paint comes down and covers everything evenly. Because of my inexperience, my end product required a few touch-ups (although not visible in the picture). But overall, this was a very fun and enriching experience. I believe my activity turned out beautifully.

Leave a Reply

